Fair Work Act comes into effect

July 1 2009

The Fair Work Act Cth 2009 (Fair Work Act) took effect from 1 July 2009 but actual changes to employment requirements are taking place in stages with some minor variation between states. (WA has not joined the national system.)

From 1 January 2010, there are new minimum standards for employment laid out in the National Employment Standards (NES) as a safety net for all eligible employees – the NES do not apply to volunteers, those in management work or on higher incomes (base salary over $108,000) or to independent contractors, who are covered by the Independent Contractors Act (Cth).

The Modern Awards cover certain occupations and industries and will be phased in from 1 July 2010 until 1 July 2014.


Cyber Protection Information - eConveyancing Newsletter

Important news on cyber security from the AIC National President.

Details >

Office of the Registrar General Workshops NSW

The Office of the Registrar General in NSW are hosting eConveyancing Workshops.

Details >